Last updated on January 16th, 2018 at 09:01 pm
The Cathedral of Christ the Savior in Moscow was built in consideration of God’s help and protection during the difficult times for Russia – the Patriotic War with Napoleon in 1812. It is considered to be a monument to all Russian people for their courage and heroism.
The Cathedral of Christ the Savior is the largest temple of the Russian Orthodox Church. It can accommodate as many as 10000 people.
The interior is famous for its ornaments which were created by painters of Russian Academy of Arts such as V. Vereshchagin and V. Surikov, I. Kramskoy and Baron T. Neff.
The Cathedral was destroyed during Soviet times. There were plans to build the enormous Palace of the Soviets on its place. But the project never came alive because of the Great Patriotic War during 1941-1945. However, the site was preserved and the flooded foundation was later transformed into the world largest open-air swimming pool – Moskva Pool.
The Russian Orthodox Church got the permission from the Soviet government to rebuild the Cathedral of Christ the Savior. All funds were poured in from ordinary citizens and in 1994 the reconstruction started.
On the Transfiguration Day 19th August 2000, the completed Cathedral of Christ the Saviour was consecrated.
The Cathedral of Christ the Savior could be compared to a large museum. Interiors tell us about the remarkable period in the history of the Russian State and the courage of its people. It’s the memorial of military glory and the monument to all soldiers who died for their Motherland.
On 5th December 1990 in Volkhonka Street, right near the place where the original Cathedral of Christ the Savior used to be, there was a granite stone set with the engraving saying: “ The stepping stone in the name of Our Lady Derzhavnaya – the foregoer of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior which will be revived in this sacred place”.
A wooden tent-shaped chapel in the name of the Reigning Icon of Our Lady Derzhanaya was put up in 1995 near the Cathedral of Christ the Savior, which was still under construction. Regular service started in the temple right away. Every day the prayers were read for the quickest revival of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior, for the builders and charity givers.
Nowadays the chapel continues its service. It has the saint list of The Reigning Icon in front of it, and every Wednesday and Sunday the aca phistus is sung.
The Reigning Icon of Our Lady Derzhavnaya takes a special place among the respected wonder-working images of Our Lady. The Icon, retrieved in the 20th century, was destined to become one of the main sacred things of modern Russia.